# Documentation states that clean\_removed should be false when close\_removed = false. Why?

**URL:** <https://discuss.elastic.co/t/documentation-states-that-clean-removed-should-be-false-when-close-removed-false-why/356977>\
**Category:** Beats\
**Tags:** filebeat\
**Created:** [April 8, 2024, 1:43pm UTC](https://discuss.elastic.co/t/documentation-states-that-clean-removed-should-be-false-when-close-removed-false-why/356977 "2024-04-08T13:43:06Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![jeanpaul1977](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/elastic/user_avatar/discuss.elastic.co/jeanpaul1977/32/133354_2.png) [@jeanpaul1977](https://discuss.elastic.co/u/jeanpaul1977)\
**Post date:** [April 8, 2024, 1:43pm UTC](https://discuss.elastic.co/t/documentation-states-that-clean-removed-should-be-false-when-close-removed-false-why/356977/1 "2024-04-08T13:43:06Z")

</div>

In the documentation is stated that clean\_removed should be set to false when clean\_removed is set to false.

See:  
[Log input | Filebeat Reference [8.13] | Elastic](https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/beats/filebeat/current/filebeat-input-log.html#:~:text=This%20option%20is%20enabled%20by%20default.%20If%20you%20disable%20this%20option%2C%20you%20must%20also%20disable%20clean_removed).

Can someone explain why this is needed? We have issues with this option disabled (missing entire logfiles) while enabling this option resolves the issue.
