# Exclude node from cluster routing allocation

**URL:** <https://discuss.elastic.co/t/exclude-node-from-cluster-routing-allocation/222242>\
**Category:** Elasticsearch\
**Created:** [March 5, 2020, 9:13am UTC](https://discuss.elastic.co/t/exclude-node-from-cluster-routing-allocation/222242 "2020-03-05T09:13:54Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![qiratnahraf](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/elastic/user_avatar/discuss.elastic.co/qiratnahraf/32/55984_2.png) [@qiratnahraf](https://discuss.elastic.co/u/qiratnahraf)\
**Post date:** [March 5, 2020, 9:13am UTC](https://discuss.elastic.co/t/exclude-node-from-cluster-routing-allocation/222242/1 "2020-03-05T09:13:54Z")

</div>

Hi ,

for a maintenance activity we exclude a node from cluster routing allocation. When a node get back UP, we were not sure how to remove it from exclusion so we simply include it by using following command  
PUT /\_cluster/settings  
{  
"transient" : {  
"cluster.routing.allocation.include.\_ip " : "ip of the node"  
}  
}

Now our cluser/settings have both include and exclude for the same node. After some time we came to know that we can simply remove a node from exclude by passing the null using following command  
PUT /\_cluster/settings  
{  
"transient" : {  
"cluster.routing.allocation.exclude.\_ip " : ""  
}  
}  
This way we remove the node from exclude. but in our cluster/settings the node is still in include. does it impact routing allocation as we require to allocate shards to all node. if yes, is it safe to remove it from setting by passing nulll as below  
"cluster.routing.allocation.include.\_ip " : ""

Thanks

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/elastic/original/3X/1/a/1ac57faf039f6b580b3f104ef42a2a89e41014de.png) [@system](https://discuss.elastic.co/u/system)\
**Post date:** [April 2, 2020, 9:14am UTC](https://discuss.elastic.co/t/exclude-node-from-cluster-routing-allocation/222242/2 "2020-04-02T09:14:16Z")

</div>

This topic was automatically closed 28 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
