# Snapshot deletion leaves behind empty directories

**URL:** <https://discuss.elastic.co/t/snapshot-deletion-leaves-behind-empty-directories/102943>\
**Category:** Elasticsearch\
**Created:** [October 6, 2017, 6:21am UTC](https://discuss.elastic.co/t/snapshot-deletion-leaves-behind-empty-directories/102943 "2017-10-06T06:21:44Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![arunachala](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/elastic/user_avatar/discuss.elastic.co/arunachala/32/126762_2.png) [@arunachala](https://discuss.elastic.co/u/arunachala)\
**Post date:** [October 6, 2017, 6:21am UTC](https://discuss.elastic.co/t/snapshot-deletion-leaves-behind-empty-directories/102943/1 "2017-10-06T06:21:45Z")

</div>

Hi,

We are using ES 2.4.1.  
On deletion of a snapshot, ES leaves behind empty directories under the 'indices' directory within the ES repository, which earlier used to hold the indices data for that snapshot. Is this a known issue? Is there anyway of forcing ES to delete these directories?

Note: We are using python ES APIs to delete the snapshot.

Regards,  
Arun

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![ywelsch](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/elastic/user_avatar/discuss.elastic.co/ywelsch/32/7751_2.png) [@ywelsch](https://discuss.elastic.co/u/ywelsch)\
**Post date:** [October 13, 2017, 8:24am UTC](https://discuss.elastic.co/t/snapshot-deletion-leaves-behind-empty-directories/102943/2 "2017-10-13T08:24:02Z")

</div>

Hi, this is a known issue which is fixed in Elasticsearch 5.0, see [https://github.com/elastic/elasticsearch/pull/19751](https://github.com/elastic/elasticsearch/pull/19751)

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/elastic/original/3X/1/a/1ac57faf039f6b580b3f104ef42a2a89e41014de.png) [@system](https://discuss.elastic.co/u/system)\
**Post date:** [November 10, 2017, 8:24am UTC](https://discuss.elastic.co/t/snapshot-deletion-leaves-behind-empty-directories/102943/3 "2017-11-10T08:24:11Z")

</div>

This topic was automatically closed 28 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
