*fixed* Repository Verification Exception on registering an repository

Hi there,

I have a master-only node and 3 Data-Nodes in a Cluster running elasticsearch 5.1.1 and I want to make snapshots of some indexes. In every node, I set "path.repo: ["/opt/elasticsearch/archive"]" in the elasticsearch.yml. Now I try to register an repository using curl. Every time I do this, I get an repository_verification_exception with the reason:

RemoteTransportException[[data-1][xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:9300][internal:admin/repository/verify]]; nested: RepositoryVerificationException[[archive] a file written by master to the store [/opt/elasticsearch/archive] cannot be accessed on the node XY

The folders are present and ownership is given to the elastic user, running the server. Checking on the servers, every node except the master node has a tests-XYZ file in the archive folder. A ls -ld archive/ check gives this for the master node: drwxr-xr-x 2 elastic elastic 4096 May 30 13:00 archive/

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks so far

A small update from my side.

I made fresh installs of 5.4 instances on every server.
As I said on every node except the client/ingest one, I set:
path.repo: ["/opt/elasticsearch/snapshots"]

I created that folder, chowned it to the elastic user and even did chmod 777 on it.

The problem remains, when I try to register an snapshot repository. In every snapshots folder of the data nodes, a test folder is created with an hash, except the master one. And as result I just get the error from the first post (a 500 RepositoryVerificationException).

The registration looks like this out of cerebro, although I tried it with curl too:

_snapshot/snapshots
{
    "type": "fs",
    "settings": {
	"compress": false,
	"location": "/opt/elasticsearch/snapshots"
    }
}