_discover_file_glob: glob is: []{:level=>:debug, :file=>"", :line=>"117"}

hi,
i'm new with ELK and is to be able to configure it to receive syslog messages. Ultimately we would like logstash to receive cloudtrail files, to do this I tried to follow Parsing Amazon CloudTrail JSON Logs with a Customized Logstash Build but for testing purposes we locally stored a json file and use this as an input file. but when i ran:

java -jar logstash-1.4.07.dev.medidata-flatjar.jar agent -f /etc/logstash/conf.d/combined.conf --debug

this resulted into and gets stuck with the last line

Automatic template management enabled {:manage_template=>"true", :level=>:info, :file=>"/etc/logstash/conf.d/logstash-1.4.07.dev.medidata-flatjar.jar!/logstash/outputs/elasticsearch_http.rb", :line=>"104"}
Template Search URL: {:template_search_url=>"http://localhost:9200/_template/*", :level=>:debug, :file=>"/etc/logstash/conf.d/logstash-1.4.07.dev.medidata-flatjar.jar!/logstash/outputs/elasticsearch_http.rb", :line=>"112"}
_discover_file_glob: /etc/logstash/conf.d/cloudtrail.json: glob is: ["/etc/logstash/conf.d/cloudtrail.json"] {:level=>:debug, :file=>"/etc/logstash/conf.d/logstash-1.4.07.dev.medidata-flatjar.jar!/filewatch/watch.rb", :line=>"117"}

researching i found this to be related to permission and deletig .sincedb* file but this didn't help. below is my is my config

input {
file {
type => "json"
path => "/etc/logstash/conf.d/cloudtrail.json"
start_position => beginning
}
}

filter {
if !("splitted" in [tags])
{
json {
source => "message"
}
split {
field => "Records"
reuse_element => false
refilter => true
add_tag => ["splitted"]
}
}
if ("splitted" in [tags])
{
date {
match => ["eventTime", "ISO8601"]
remove_tag => ["splitted"]
}
# workaround for the problem that responseElements chokes Elasticsearch. It expects a string but responseElements is sometimes a hash.
ruby {
code => "event['null'] = event['null'].inspect"
}
}
}

output {
elasticsearch_http { host => localhost }
stdout {