Azure Functions nodejs not showing transaction samples

Good day, I'm new to ELK stack and trying to setup APM transactions on my BE application.

We are using serverless infrastructure with Azure Functions and nodejs.

I cannot see any transaction samples in APM view:

Steps to reproduce:

1. Download apm-agent-nodejs/examples/an-azure-function-app at main · elastic/apm-agent-nodejs · GitHub
  2. Setup required configuration (apm server url and token)
  3. Trigger any endpoint

Am I expecting something from from this?

P.S one of our functions runs on graphql and transactions logged properly. This reproduces for any other function, regardless of what's inside of it.

P.S.2 enabling tracing for apm shows that no spans being captured. Starting and ending span manually does not solve the issue

P.S.3 This reproduces with any version on npm packages and runtime.

Hello @shevkaboss thanks for reporting this!

May I ask you to clarify what setup of APM Server are you using?
For example, are you hosting the Elastic stack yourself or are you running it in cloud.elastic.co?

Can you also specify the versions for both the client and server part that you are using?
Cheers

We are running it on Cloud instance via Azure (yes, cloud.elastic.co).

Server instance is 8.12.2:

By the client part you mean version on npm in our case? The last attempt was on the demo provided by ELK: "elastic-apm-node": "^3.42.0".

It isn't working on latest as well: "elastic-apm-node": "^4.7.1"

Thank you for quick reply!

Hello

I was trying to figure what's wrong and re-created a similar setup but I could not face any issues.

Can you please clarify what you mean with "one of our functions runs on graphql and transactions logged properly."?
Does this mean that you see traces data populated in the APM UI for this function?

Also when you say "Starting and ending span manually does not solve the issue", do you mean adding instrumentation in the code, in form of spans?