Can't remove_field - help please

I am very new with Logstash, trying to create my first config. I am using 1.5.6 version.
As I am testing, I wanted to try to use db2 log file as input. Got the multiline thing working fine. Example of my event:
"2016-02-26-14.51.45.577696-360 I959779E406 LEVEL: Warning\nPID : 24767 TID : 140656464664352 PROC : db2star2\nINSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000\nHOSTNAME: opsmgmt01.wdc01.unica.com\nFUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqleReleaseStStLockFile, probe:14016\nMESSAGE : Released lock on the file:\nDATA #1 : String, 39 bytes\n/home/db2inst1/sqllib/ctrl/db2stst.0000"

I want to get rid of everything after LEVEL:Warning.
This is my filter:
filter {
grok {
match => { message => "%{YEAR}[-]%{MONTHNUM}[-]%{MONTHDAY}[-]%{HOUR}[.]%{MINUTE}[.]%{SECOND}[-]%{INT}%{SPACE}[0-9a-zA-Z]{10,}%{SPACE}+%{WORD}[:]%{SPACE}%{WORD:loglevel}%{GREEDYDATA:therest}" }
}
mutate { remove_field => [ "therest" ] }
}

I used grok debugger and it displays "therest" correctly.
My output:
output {
if [loglevel] not in ["Info","Event"] {
stdout { codec => rubydebug }
email { to => "mivkovic@xyz.com"
subject => "check db2 instance log"
from => "root@%{host}"
body => "Here is the event: %{message}" }
}
}

On my stdout, I see message as the whole thing, including "therest" field. Same thing for my email message body.
How does my new message becomes everything but "therest" field?
Many thanks!

Does your pattern actually match 100%?

I think you may be misunderstanding exactly what the grok filter does. It creates fields from the %{message} based on the pattern provided, but does not alter the original %{message} which will always be what has been received from the input filter, in this case your log entry.

Your code groks the message to create fields, but your output filter is sending you the original %{message} which will always contain %{therest}.

What you need to do is create a new message from the grok fields and send this instead.

Try something like this: