Check database availability

Hi,
I am new in ELK and I have one question regarding monitoring oracle DB availability.
Please advice me, because I wish, with your help and knowledge, to find the best solution.
I have read that I can monitor for Oracle DB Connection (checking listener availability), using Heartbeat.
But here I want to monitor database availability (periodically logon with one specific user for this purpose on Oracle database), not only to check listener availability.
Please advice me, what will be the best way to do it.

Thanks in advance!

Heartbeat supports TCP monitoring which can monitor if the TCP port your Oracle DB runs on is available, but it can't initiate a full connection to the database.

You could, alternatively, write a web service that exposes an HTTP(s) endpoint that indicates whether the DB is up or down and then monitor that with heartbeat.

Many thanks on this answer!
Please advice me is there any other solution for this problem (for example logstash or some another beat). Because if we are using some specific service for this purpose of monitoring DB availability, we need additional monitoring of this APP server and one additional layer for monitoring.

Kind regards!

You could use logstash with the Logstash input JDBC plugin to execute a query on a regular basis and use a custom dashboard to track its availability.

Many thanks Andrew,
I am not sure that I am correctly understand your suggestion (please sorry I am new in this area of the ELK).
I have created specific configuration file with this "db availability check" with this "input" structure, which just logon on the database with
specific user and execute one dummy sql on the target database:

input {
jdbc {
jdbc_connection_string => "jdbc:oracle:thin:@//*********:1521/hcs"
jdbc_driver_class => "Java::oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver"
jdbc_driver_library => "/home/elastic/jdbc_drivers/ojdbc6.jar"
jdbc_user => "elastic"
jdbc_password => "**************"