Combining multiple documents based on ID

Hello logstash!

I'm new to Elastic stack.

We are transferring data from Sql Server to ElasticSearch using LogStash's jdbc plugin. So far, it's fine. Normally jdbc plugin creates a new document for each Sql Server row, but I want to create a new document by combining these multiple documents based on ID column. How can I do that?

Our data like:

id			column1			column2
1			A				xyz
2			B				xxx
3			C				yyy
4			D				xyz
5			E				xyz

I want to combine 1, 4, and 5 records in a new document based on column2, xyz. Records must be added to the new document according to the date order in Sql Server. I can do this using order by, but I need help in creating a new document.

We can create a new document from records already on ElasticSearch, or we can create a new document based on column2 when the records pass through LogStash, so there won't be extra record on ElasticSearch.

Thanks for your interest.

So you want an array with all the id or column1 name?

Hello Mark, thank you for your answer!

LogStash's jdbc plugin creates a json object for each row. This is fine.

{
id: 1
column1: A
column2: xyz
}

What I need is to have a single json object by grouping all the rows according to the column2.

{
id: 4
column1: D
id: 5
column1: E
}

Can Logstash do that, grouping objects, for column2=xyz in the example, before sending to Elasticsearch?
How?

That second one won't be valid as you have multiples of the same field name.

You should be able to do a merge so you end up with;

{
id: [1, 4, 5]
column1: [A, D, E]
}

I think the id column is confusing. It does not matter what the id is. id may be anything unique from 1, 4, and 5.

Does column2 mean that it can not be combined into a single document because it is a repeating column?

Is not it possible with LogStash to get the following document?

{
_id: unique_value (I can hold this new document with Elasticsearch's _id column)
}