Confusion about the plugin about logstash-input-exec and logstash-output-tcp

As most friends in our forum, I am also a newbie about our ELK stack. Here I get the Logstash 2.4.0 environment, then I receive the request: we want to collect contents of the file /home/yhh/VMState.3 and empty the file periodically.(This file is periodically refreshed by shell scripts in the server). After discussion, I decided to the plugin logstash-input-exec and logstash-output-tcp. Then I wrote the logstash-2.4.0/etc/test.conf as following:
input {
exec {
type => "vmstate"
command => "cat /home/yhh/VMState.3 ;> /home/yhh/VMState.3"
interval => 60
}
}
output {
if [type] == "vmstate" {
tcp {
host => "172.28.217.113"
port => 10988
codec => json
reconnect_interval => 30
}
}
}
I ran the command "/usr/local/src/logstash-2.4.0/bin/logstash -f /usr/local/src/logstash-2.4.0/etc/test.conf" to load the conf file, soon the TCP connection established. But after a while, the connection colsed as if there was something wrong.

netstat -antup |grep 10988

tcp 1 0 ::ffff:172.28.217.192:49828 ::ffff:172.28.217.113:10988 CLOSE_WAIT 22669/java
Below the command "/usr/local/src/logstash-2.4.0/bin/logstash -f /usr/local/src/logstash-2.4.0/etc/test.conf", there were some output warnings of which explanations seemed to be Ruby relevant. I was not familiar with Ruby, so it was difficult for me to read and understand, any one can give me a hand? Thanks very much :slight_smile:

BTW, if I want to use trigger mode instead of periodic mode, which means that in the plugin logstash-input-exec only supports to execute the command periodically with option "interval => 60". In fact, the contents of file /home/yhh/VMState.3 are dynamically changing but non-periodically, sometimes some events may trigger the change of contents. Are there any plugins or options to catch that moment and trigger the operation to collect the changed contents and send to the remote endpoint though TCP or other ways?