Converting very old logstash setup to a moden version, syntax issue pulling info from filebeat

Hello All

I'm fairly new at Logstash and I was tasked of taking our old beast of a Logstash server into the new age.

We use our Filebeat/Logstash setup for a central logging server and nothing more.

I've got 90% of the way there now with Filebeat 7.1.1 and logstash 7.1.1 (from Filebeat 1.3.1 and logstash 2.3.x) however I'm stumbling over the last hurdle and could use a little bit of help.

We had a set of filters on the logstash end that would filter the logs into folders
The folders sorted arranged the logs by type then by year-month/date/server/filename.

EG: /logs/squid/2019-06/20/proxy1/access.log

Where I'm struggling is the formatting has changed quite a bit, I got the year-month and day working but I can't seem to get the server name and filename working anyone, what I'm left with is an output like the below.

EG: /logs/squid/2019-06/20/%{host}/%filename

Which is no good at all.

Here is what we use to have:
OLD CODE!

ruby {
            code => "event['filename'] = event['source'].split('/').last"
        }
        ruby {
            code => "event['index_day'] = event.timestamp.time.localtime.strftime('%d-%m-%y')"
        }
        ruby {
            code => "event['index_month'] = event.timestamp.time.localtime.strftime('%Y-%m')"
        }
        ruby {
            code => "event['index_day_only'] = event.timestamp.time.localtime.strftime('%d')"
        }
output {
    if [type]  == "syslog" {
        file {
                path => "/logs/syslog/%{index_month}/%{index_day_only}/%{host}/%{filename}"
                codec => line { format => "%{[message]}"}
            }
    }
}

And here is the new code:
NEW CODE

ruby {
code=> "event.set('filename', event.get('source').split('/').last)"
#Below is the old code tried both neither worked
#code => "event['filename'] = event['source'].split('/').last"
}
output {
if [fields][document_type] == "syslogtest" {
file {