DB Span Stacktrace reporting wrong filename

Kibana version: 8.1.2
Elasticsearch version: 8.1.2
APM Server version: 8.1.2
APM Agent language and version: dotnet agent version: 1.18.0

I was doing profiler auto instrumentation of a netcoreapp3.1 application :
CourseLibraryAPI

While going through the db span stacktrace I found that filepath was wrong, even though the classname and function names are correct.

{
                "exclude_from_grouping" : false,
                "filename" : """C:\Program Files\dotnet\shared\Microsoft.NETCore.App\3.1.32\System.Private.CoreLib.dll""",
                "classname" : "CourseLibrary.API.Services.CourseLibraryRepository",
                "line" : {
                  "number" : 0
                },
                "function" : "GetCourses",
                "module" : "CourseLibrary.API, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null"
}

I am new to dotnet developement, can anyone explain why the filename is a dll not the .cs source code containing the class and the function - link to source code with the function

Environment variables used for profiler auto instrumentation:

set CORECLR_ENABLE_PROFILING=1
set CORECLR_PROFILER={FA65FE15-F085-4681-9B20-95E04F6C03CC}
set CORECLR_PROFILER_PATH=D:\DotNet\elastic_apm_profiler_1.18.0\elastic_apm_profiler.dll
set ELASTIC_APM_PROFILER_HOME=D:\DotNet\elastic_apm_profiler_1.18.0
set ELASTIC_APM_PROFILER_INTEGRATIONS=D:\DotNet\elastic_apm_profiler_1.18.0\integrations.yml
set ELASTIC_APM_SPAN_STACK_TRACE_MIN_DURATION=0ms
set ELASTIC_APM_STACK_TRACE_LIMIT=-1
set ELASTIC_APM_SERVICE_NAME=CourseLibraryApp

Hi @AbhijithCV,

this is because C# is a compiled language. Once you compile a .cs file, the output will be a .dll containing the byte-code - this is also known as the .NET assembly. So when your program runs, there is no .cs file with source code visible to the runtime since the runtime works with the compiled assemblies which are the .dll files.