Deadlock with Java apm agent

Kibana version: 7.8.0

Elasticsearch version: 7.8.0

APM Server version: 7.8.0

APM Agent language and version:
Java

Fresh install or upgraded from other version?:
Fresh

Description of the problem including expected versus actual behavior. Please include screenshots (if relevant):

I am fairly new to elastic APM. Wanted to check it out. I am trying it on my developer env that is running docker-for-windows. I quickly setup the elasticsearch, kibana and apm-server on my local box (all using version 7.8.0) using the docker compose from https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/apm/get-started/current/quick-start-overview.html. The docker containers came up fine. I’m trying this on a Java application (that uses jdk8.0.252 linux_x64), which also runs in a docker container. I also downloaded the apm-agent and have it mounted in the container folder, “elastic-apm-agent-1.17.0.jar” (from maven). I started the application using

`“-javaagent:/opt/appagent/elastic-apm/elastic-apm-agent-1.17.0.jar -Delastic.apm.config_file=/<app-classpath-dir>/elasticapm.properties"` 

and the properties have these settings

recording=true
    instrument=true
    service_name=ma
    hostname=ma
    environment=docker-dev
    transaction_max_spans=1000
    sanitize_field_names=<headers-to-exclude>
    ignore_urls=<urls-to-skip-like-healthy>
    server_urls=http://host.docker.internal:8200
    server_timeout=30000
    max_queue_size=2000
    api_request_time=30s
    api_request_size=2mb
    metrics_interval=15s
    application_packages=<app-java-package>
    stack_trace_limit=100

I frequently encounter the deadlock whenever the application server is started/restarted. Below is the stack info from the thread dump using jstack -l

"elastic-apm-remote-config-poller":
    	at sun.misc.Unsafe.park(Native Method)
    	- parking to wait for  <0x00000000fbc93ab0> (a java.util.concurrent.locks.ReentrantLock$NonfairSync)