Drop "event_data." from data field

Good afternoon Elastic team,

I am sending Sysmon logs to my ELK stack with Winlogbeat 5.2.1 and all of them have the "event_data" string in the field names. For example:

event_data.CommandLine should be only CommandLine

How can I make those changes on the client (winlogbeat) instead of configuring a Logstash filter?

Thank you

You need to use Logstash or Ingest Node if you want to rename fields. It cannot be done in Beats.

Why do you want to rename them?

Thank you very much. Thats what I read too. It cannot be done at the Host level (Winlogbeat). The reason why I want to rename them is because the data field names are too long, and I was not sure if others were trying to rename them or working like that by default. Sorry this is my first time working with Winlogbeat and ELK.

Too long for what?

I think most people use them as is. I can see a case for some renames or copies if you want a common field name for certain types of data across your org.

1- Too long for visualizations. As you can see below. The data field name such as:

event_data.DestinationIP.Keyword is too long and plus the word "Descending", pushes the column name "count" to the right. So my visualization needs to be a certain size to accommodate the columns I want to show. If I reduce its size, I dont see the "Count column"

2- Too long to type queries manually. lets say i want to create chains of events to know processes calling out to a specific external IP address via a specific port name:

event_data.Image: "C:\bla\bla\bla.exe AND event_data.DestinationIP: "x.x.x.x" AND event_data.DestinationPortName: "https"

it could be:

image: C:\bla\bla\bla.exe AND DestinationIP: "x.x.x.x" AND DestinationPortName: "https"