[ELK]logstash default timezone cause index splitting problem in different timezones

I'm a Chinese developer, our timezone is +08:00,the problem using logstash is that @timestamp is always formatted as @timestamp" => "2015-07-25T16:00:30.000Z, the input time is 2015-07-26 00:00:30. This problem will cause 1 day log to be spliced to two indexes:logstash-2015.07.25 and logstash-2015-07.26

I tried to fix it by add logged_date field to represent 2015-07-26 in +08:00 timezone, however, in kibana, all the date fields will be added 08:00 hours, which causes incorrect logged_date in Chinese timezone

Could anyone give me a solution on this problem? I googled around and found no proper solution.

I've read the user guide for logstash date filter, the timezone parameter for date filter is used to parse input log time not for output, so it cannot be used to change the output @timestamp timezone

ES and LS use UTC as much as possible to make it standardised.

If you are using KB then it shouldn't be a problem, as it will change the times to the TZ of the browser.

yes, es and logstash use utc 00:00 is ok for kibana, but logstash elasticsearch output plugin use @timestamp to format the index_name, as a result, one day log in +08:00 timezone will be indexed into two different indexes, which is confused for us in +08:00 timezone,although, kibana will fix this problem when displaying query result

Again, this is by design and nothing you should try to "fix".

Hi, I want to know your solution for this. We have also the problem. As known to us all that logstash will use UTC and kibana automatically converts the timezone to user's browsers local time, which is fine.

But we also want to use filebeat and logstash, instead of parsing and sending data to elasticsearch, we just want to keep the log files and spliced them in server's local time, and use our customized scripts to parse the log files.