Error Return code 21: SSL encryption between filebeat 5.2 and kafka 1.0 (self signed)

I am trying to set up ssl connection between filebeat 5.2 and kafka 1.0 using the below steps. I am fairly new to encryption world and seeing errors during this process. Not sure if I am missing something in cert/key or filebeat and kafka config. Would appreciate some guidance.

Filebeat: v5.2 residing on Debian Jessie 8
Kafka: v1.0 residing on Debian Wheezy 7

Sequence followed

Login to common node

cat > cert_info_filebeat << EOF
[req]
default_bits = 2048
prompt = no
default_md = sha512
req_extensions = req_ext
distinguished_name = dn

[ dn ]
C=US
ST=<xxx>
L=<xxx>
O=<xxx>
OU=<xxx>
emailAddress=<xxx@xx.com>
CN = filebeat

[ req_ext ]
keyUsage = keyEncipherment, dataEncipherment
extendedKeyUsage = serverAuth, clientAuth
subjectAltName = @alt_names

[ alt_names ]
IP.1 = <filebeat IP 1>
IP.2 = <filebeat IP 2>
IP.3 = <filebeat IP 3> 

[ usr_cert ]
# Extensions for server certificates.
basicConstraints = CA:FALSE
nsCertType = client, server
nsComment = "OpenSSL FileBeat Server / Client Certificate"
subjectKeyIdentifier = hash
authorityKeyIdentifier = keyid,issuer:always
keyUsage = critical, digitalSignature, keyEncipherment, keyAgreement, nonRepudiation

EOF

Run these commands
Generates key
openssl genrsa -out filebeat.key 2048
Generates certificate signing request
openssl req -new -out filebeat.csr -key filebeat.key -config <(cat cert_info_filebeat)
Generate self signed certificate
openssl x509 -req -days 3650 -in filebeat.csr -signkey filebeat.key -out filebeat.crt -extensions req_ext -extfile cert_info_filebeat

After this I have filebeat.key, filebeat.csr, filebeat.crt files. Ran this command to verify crt and no errors there

openssl x509 -infilebeat.crt -text -noout

Modify filebeat config

output.kafka:
  hosts: ["<kafka IP>:9093"]
  topic: '%{[type]}'
  # ssl crt/key files
  ssl.certificate: "/etc/filebeat_softlayer.crt"
  ssl.key: "/etc/filebeat_softlayer.key"