Event messages are splitted in event_data.param xy? How to fix that?

Hello there,

I have installed ELKwin from https://www.itefix.net/elkwin - very nice solution to get the ELK-Stack running in seconds. If I'm honest, I am very new to the ELK-Stack and it is not so easy to start...

On the ELK-server I collect all the Windows event logs from all other Windows-Servers. That is running well.

Now I have installed Winlogbeat (5.0.0 alpha5) to send all that collected events to Logstash - that is also running. Winlogbeat 1.3.1 did not show all messages correctly, which I have used before.

But I have one problem - the message data is splitted into several fields, from event_data.param 1 - event_data.param 30.

How can I fix that? Or is that normal?

Here's my winlogbeat.yml:

winlogbeat.registry_file: C:/Elkwin_Free_x64/winlogbeat/.winlogbeat.yml

winlogbeat.event_logs:
- name: ForwardedEvents
  level: critical, error, warning
  forwarded: true

output.elasticsearch:

hosts: ["localhost:9200"]

logging.to_files: true
logging.files:

path: C:/Elkwin_Free_x64/winlogbeat/Logs

rotateeverybytes: 10485760 # = 10MB

keepfiles: 7

Thank you very much for your help!

Assuming that the events were forwarded from the original host to the collector in "RenderedText" format, then they should have a message field that contains the full text of the event. The event_data.* fields are the raw data that was provided by the application that logged the event. This is included in the event published by Winlogbeat so that you don't have to grok the message field to extract data needed for other analysis you might want to do.

To debug the issue I would add the include_xml: true configuration option so that the raw XML event that was forwarded by the original host is included. Then you can check this XML to see if it includes a RenderingInfo field with a message.