Filebeat to elastic/cloud not using defined index in yml config

First, I am new to all of this and have next to no knowledge of how all of our systems were setup originally as I took this over when the person in charge of it left the company.

ELK 6.8.12, Filebeats 6.4 (yes, old, it will be upgraded after the move)
I am in the process of moving from an on-prem full ELK stack to Elastic hosted services. We are closing all of our on-prem sites down.
However, elastic cloud apparently drops Kafka and Logstash from the stack and I have to make changes to filebeats to point directly to elasticsearch.

It does not seem to be working properly.
With our current full stack setup the logs are like this, which I think is normal.
server -> kafka -> logstash -> elasticsearch
Each server has filebeats running, kafka has 3 servers only running kafka, logstash has 3 servers only running logstash, elasticsearch has 6 servers.. 3 running elasticsearch and kibana (elastic clients) and the remaining 3 are elasticsearch only (data nodes)
Elasticsearch generates index files on named "logstash-TOPIC-YEAR.NUM" and all of the servers get their logs pushed into the single index of their topic (gk, iis, etc)

The servers have filebeats installed with a pretty simple config, this is an example of one of them.

####------   filebeat.yml
filebeat.config.modules:
  enabled: true
  path: ${path.config}/modules.d/*.yml

filebeat.inputs:
- type: log
  paths:
    - /opt/logs/gk-app.log
  multiline.pattern: ^\[
  multiline.negate: true
  multiline.match: after
  fields_under_root: true
  fields:
   type: WLP
   input_type: "log"
logging.level: error
output.kafka:
  hosts: ["kafka01:9092", "kafka02:9092", "kafka03:9092"]
  topic: gk-logstash
 partition.round_robin:
    reachable_only: false
  required_acks: 1
  compression: gzip
  max_message_bytes: 1000000
  version: 0.10.2.0

Kafka doesn't appear to have anything really going on with it...

####------   server.properties file
broker.id=1