Formatting Windows DNS logs

I'm successfully using filebeat to ship DNS debug logs from our Windows DC servers to elk. I've finally figured out turning off 'analyzed' on the domain name field so that the name isn't broken into chunks (ie Microsoft.com became 'microsoft' and 'com'. Now I'm at a stage where I need to format the name to remove the numbers in the name

(7)outlook(9)office365(3)com(0)

Can anyone help me with this? If you need any logs just let me know...thx

1 Like

I think you could use the Logstash mutate filter's gsub to remove the numbers. Here's an untested example (it may need some escaping).

filter {
  mutate {
    gsub => [
      "domain_name_field", "(\d+)", "."
    ]
  }
}

First off....I huge thankyou. I'm no coder so the simplest things seem difficult..haha. Here is what I did as well as the results:

filter {
  mutate {
    gsub => [
      "dns_query_name", "(\d+)", "."
    ]
  }
}
filter {
  mutate {
    gsub => [
      "dns_query_name", "\(", ""
    ]
  }
}
filter {
  mutate {
    gsub => [
      "dns_query_name", "\)", ""
    ]
  }
}

Probably really unorthodox but it removed the brackets :slight_smile: I'm guessing I can probably do all the formatting on one line?

So something like:

(3)www(6)office(4)live(3)com(0)

became:

.www.office.live.com.

I do see some strange entries with too many dots but this is a huge improvement THANKYOU

Dave

I think I understand what you need a little better now.

filter {
  mutate {
    gsub => [
      # Remove leading (n)
      "dns_query_name", "^\(\d+\)", "",
      # Remove trailing (n)
      "dns_query_name", "\(\d+\)$", "",
      # Replace inner (n)
      "dns_query_name", "\(\d+\)", "."
    ]
  }
}

That should change

(3)www(6)office(4)live(3)com(0)

to

www.office.live.com