Generating the Binary

Hello

I am new to golang and elasticsearch.
I installed golang on mac and cloned the packetbeat repo.Trying to run the commang to execute step 1. Generating the Binary, but am unsuccesful.
Can you please guide me as to how to generate the binary so that I can do a code coverage of my tests written in python.

Hi @Prerna_Manaktala, please follow the instructions listed in the Developer Guide for compiling. It links to a guide to setting up Go and shows the commands for building.

After you can compile, you can generate a code coverage report that includes the python tests by running make full-coverage.

If you encounter a problem please include information about your environment and the error. And we'll try to help you out!

-Andrew

Thanks Andrew.
I did above steps and am getting this error:
$ make

first make sure we have godep

go get github.com/tools/godep
/Users/prernamanaktala/work/bin/godep go build

github.com/elastic/libbeat/outputs

Godeps/_workspace/src/github.com/elastic/libbeat/outputs/tls.go:159: undefined: tls.TLS_ECDHE_RSA_WITH_AES_256_GCM_SHA384
Godeps/_workspace/src/github.com/elastic/libbeat/outputs/tls.go:160: undefined: tls.TLS_ECDHE_ECDSA_WITH_AES_256_GCM_SHA384
godep: go exit status 2
make: *** [packetbeat] Error 1

I did godep restore also which worked fine as I installed bazaar.
But how to resolve the make error?
My os is max osx Yosemite, version 10.10.5

Hi,

have you installed go 1.4.* ? For building you will need go 1.5.1 which adds these missing symbols.

Thanks Stephen, I was able to compile packetbeat after removing the older version of go on my system.
But make fulltests gives this error:
/Users/prernamanaktala/work/bin/godep go tool cover -html=./coverage/unit.cov -o coverage/unit.html
make -C ./tests coverage
make -C .. packetbeat.test
make[2]: `packetbeat.test' is up to date.
make -C .. env
test -d env || virtualenv env > /dev/null
/bin/sh: virtualenv: command not found