Getting _grokparsefailure as a tag

Hi

I was just wondering why i keep getting the tag _grokparsefailure in my syslog messages?
Capture

My logstash config file looks like this

input {
  tcp {
    port => 5000
    type => syslog
  }
  udp {
    port => 5000
    type => syslog
  }
}

filter {
  if [type] == "syslog" {
    grok {
      match => { "message" => "%{SYSLOGTIMESTAMP:syslog_timestamp} %{SYSLOGHOST:syslog_hostname} %{DATA:syslog_program}(?:\[%{POSINT:syslog_pid}\])?:
%{GREEDYDATA:syslog_message}" }
      add_field => [ "received_at", "%{@timestamp}" ]
      add_field => [ "received_from", "%{host}" ]
    }
    date {
      match => [ "syslog_timestamp", "MMM  d HH:mm:ss", "MMM dd HH:mm:ss" ]
    }
  }
}

output {
  elasticsearch {
 index => ["logstash_syslog_index"]
  hosts => ["localhost:9200"]
 }
}

Because the message field you show does not match the regexp you are giving to grok.

I'm fairly new to this so I don't understand your explanation. I took this logstash config from from https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/current/config-examples.html
Could you try to lower your explanation level or give me a link where i can read up on this?

That pattern, which is essentially what you are using, would match the kind of message I would expect to see on /var/log/syslog on a Solaris server. Those look like this:

May 11 10:40:48 scrooge disk-health-nurse[26783]: [ID 702911 user.error] m:SY-mon-full-500 c:H : partition health measures for /var did not suffice

But your message starts with a PRI, then has some number followed by a timestamp that appears to include a timezone name (unless you have a host called CET), which strikes me as rather not syslog.

Personally I would not even use grok for this. I think dissect is better (cheaper to run, easier to configure). With dissect I would use this (assuming CET is a timezone)

dissect { mapping => { "message" => "<%{pri}>%{}: %{ts} %{+ts} %{+ts} %{+ts}: %{syslog_message}" } }