Handling / dropping files according to previously handled files

I'm having an issue on how to deal with a batch of files.

The lines of each file contain different pieces of information:

• the first line acts as a header (with a recognizable prefix) and includes (among other things) a unique ID

• the other lines (prefixed differently) must be analyzed and passed to ES IFF the unique ID in the first line was never spotted before in any other file

So far, I have used the following Ruby code to store and verify the ID:

ruby {
	init => '
		if @@alreadymet=nil
			@@alreadymet = []
		end
		@@canGo="false"
	'
	code => '
		unless @@alreadymet&.include?(event.get("product_serial"))
			@@alreadymet.push(event.get("product_serial"))
			@@canGo="true"
		end
		event.set("can_go",@@canGo)
	'
} 

However, when I further use the can_go attribute on the same first line, it is never evaluated to true:

if [can_go] =~ /^true/ { [...]

I'm quite new to Logstash and Ruby and I guess I'm doing something wrong...
Any help appreciated :slight_smile:

There is no reason to use a class variable (@@canGo, @@alreadymet). You can use instance variables (@canGo etc.)

Once @@canGo gets set to true it will never get reset to false. It's value should depend on whether @@alreadmet includes the value of product_serial.

You are making assumptions about the ordering of events that may not be true unless you set pipeline.workers to 1 and disable the java execution engine. Even then you appear to be assuming that the file input will read each file in turn, and I do not think that is guaranteed.

The normal way to write

if @@alreadymet=nil
		@@alreadymet = []
	end

is

@@alreadymet ||= []

But since this is in the init block it only gets called once, so you can use

@@alreadymet = []

OK, I wasn't sure about Logstash behavior (ie whether an instance corresponds to a processor or the processing of a given file)