How can ship logs to Logstash using Windows Events?

Hi,

I am very new to ELK stack. I have setup a stack using two Windows Server 2012 R2 VM machines, one is for Logstash and other for Kibana and Elastic search. Initially, I was thinking to use nxlog for logs forwarding but I came to know that I may use Windows events as well using group policy.

Can anyone help me in this regard? Please refer me to step by step guide or if anyone has an experience in it, let me know.

Why I don't want to use logstash-forwarder because then I will have to install Java on all of our Servers which I don't want obviously.

Thanks.

Initially, I was thinking to use nxlog for logs forwarding but I came to know that I may use Windows events as well using group policy.

My Windows-fu isn't strong enough to fully comprehend what you've written, but AFAIK you can pull event logs from a remote machine, in which case you shouldn't have to be dependent on running a log shipping agent on each Windows machine. However, Logstash's eventlog input plugin doesn't seem to support this.

Why I don't want to use logstash-forwarder because then I will have to install Java on all of our Servers which I don't want obviously.

Logstash-forwarder does not have a Java dependency, but Logstash proper does. If you don't want a JVM dependency NxLog seems like a good choice.

Hi Magnus,

Thanks for your reply. As I am a newbie, this is a news to me that I can pull logs from Windows machine, that's awesome. Then why people use log shipping agents on their computer, I am just curious?

So, could you please refer me to few examples of conf files where users have pulled the logs out of Windows machines. I really need to see the examples of conf files.

As I said, I think Windows itself supports reading event log from remote machines, but Logstash doesn't support it.