How to define the patterns for filters in logstash

Hi all,

I am new to Logstash, I've just set up a new ELK-stack for analyzing of Tomcat and EC2 instance logs in Kibana.
For this how to define the patterns and how to configure custom patterns in logstash.conf file... plz help me.....

Advance thanks,
Shravan K.

You'll want to use the grok filter for this. Have you read its documentation, including the section on custom patterns?

1 Like

Hi mag, thank you for reply...

Yes i want to use grok filter for this...

Just explain little deeply how to do the custom patterns/filters for this please...

Thanks,
Shravan K.

If you ask concrete questions I will attempt to answer them, but I won't write about things that are already documented. If you don't understand the documentation then please ask questions about the parts that you don't understand.

thank you mag,

Please share that document.. or any other related links for this.

Thanks,
Shravan K.

I pointed you to the grok documentation in my last post!

The Logstash documentation also contains a couple of complete configuration examples that you should be able to find easily.

Hi Mag,

below is my logstash.conf file. Am given the tomcat log and default patterns path..
Now i want to filter the tomcat log file,
If any changes are required in this code please inform to me where i need to change the code...

its my logstash.conf file
###########################################
input
{
file
{
path => "/usr/share/apache-tomcat-8.0.23/logs/.log"
type => "logs"
start_position => "beginning"
}
}
filter {
if [type] == "logs" {
grok {
patterns_dir => "/opt/ELK/logstash-1.5.4/vendor/bundle/jruby/1.9/gems/logstash-patterns-core-0.3.0/patterns"
match => [ "message", "[%{TIMESTAMP_ISO8601:timestamp}][%{DATA:severity}%{SPACE}][%{DATA:source}%{SPACE}]%{SPACE}[%{DATA:node}]%{SPACE}(?(.|\r|\n)
)" ]
}
date {
match => [ "timestamp", "YYYY-MM-dd HH:mm:ss,SSS" ]
}
}
}
output
{
elasticsearch
{
host => "localhost"
protocol => "http"