How to ingest a log file from source system to Kibana through Filebeat

Hi experts!

I am new to elastic. I have installed ELK (7.17.6) on a Ubuntu system (suppose u.u.u.u). Now I am trying to fetch/ingest a log file from a windows system (suppose w.w.w.w).

Steps I followed leaning from tutorials:-

1. Installed Filebeat (7.17.6) on windows system (w.w.w.w)
  2. Set the connection information in filebeat.yml for Elasticsearch & Kibana.
  3. As I want the log file that I kept in the Documents folder (for testing purpose). Hence I configured the input manually in filebeat.yml
  4. I ran .\filebeat.exe setup -e
  5. I ran Start-Service filebeat
  6. In the side navigation, clicked Discover. To see Filebeat data, with the predefined filebeat-* index pattern selected. But no results, tried expanding time till last 1 year also.

My filebeat.yml file's input
My log file location - C:\Users\mida\Documents\XYZ logs\xyz.log
I do not have any idea what id field expects, hence kept 'xyz'

# ============================== Filebeat inputs ===============================

filebeat.inputs:

# Each - is an input. Most options can be set at the input level, so
# you can use different inputs for various configurations.
# Below are the input specific configurations.

# filestream is an input for collecting log messages from files.
- type: filestream

# Unique ID among all inputs, an ID is required.
  id: xyz

# Change to true to enable this input configuration.
  enabled: false

# Paths that should be crawled and fetched. Glob based paths.
  paths:
    #- /var/log/*.log
    #- c:\programdata\elasticsearch\logs\*
    - C:\Users\mida\Documents\XYZ logs\xyz.log

Hi @cadrija,

your configuration looks good so far, but this line suggests the input is still disabled. Was this a copy/paste error?

@weltenwort Thanks for your response.
Sorry for my late reply.
I am not aware about the field I followed some tutorial and there it was not mentioned to update/change so I left it as it was.