How to Ingest data from MongoDB database into ElasticSearch using Logstash

Hello Logstash/ES Gurus,

I am new to ES and logstash, I need help on ingesting a user collection data from a mongo database into elastic search.

I have used logstash-input-mongodb plugin and started the logstash and it failed with following error though the error out line in config file looks good.

C:>logstash-6.7.0\bin\logstash.bat -f logstash-6.7.0\config\logstash-mongo.conf
Sending Logstash logs to C:/logstash-6.7.0/logs which is now configured via log4j2.properties
[2020-01-23T18:14:06,538][WARN ][logstash.config.source.multilocal] Ignoring the 'pipelines.yml' file because modules or command line options are specified
[2020-01-23T18:14:06,557][INFO ][logstash.runner ] Starting Logstash {"logstash.version"=>"6.7.0"}
[2020-01-23T18:14:07,479][ERROR][logstash.agent ] Failed to execute action {:action=>LogStash::PipelineAction::Create/pipeline_id:main, :exception=>"LogStash::ConfigurationError", :message=>"Expected one of #, { at line 2, column 7 (byte 16) after input {\r\n uri ", :backtrace=>["C:/logstash-6.7.0/logstash-core/lib/logstash/compiler.rb:4

Below is how my config file looks
input {
uri => 'mongodb://:@<mongo_host>:/?replicaSet=vncdev?ssl=true'
placeholder_db_dir => '/opt/logstash-mongodb/'
placeholder_db_name => 'logstash_sqlite.db'
collection => 'testcases'
batch_size => 5000
}
filter {

}
output {
stdout {
codec => rubydebug
}
elasticsearch {
action => "index"
index => "mongo_vncdev_vncmgr"
hosts => ["http://localhost:9200"]
}
}

Any help in fixing is highly appreciated

Thanks
Kishore

Try

input {
    mongodb {
        uri => 'mongodb://:@<mongo_host>:/?replicaSet=vncdev?ssl=true'
        placeholder_db_dir => '/opt/logstash-mongodb/'
        placeholder_db_name => 'logstash_sqlite.db'
        collection => 'testcases'
        batch_size => 5000
    }
}

Hi Badger,