How to parse/load JSON file or .TXT file containing JSON to logstash using GROK

I'm new in ELK & I have logs in JSON format & I can save it to JSON file or txt file. Now,

1. Which will be a better approach should I save logs to JSON file or txt file?
  2. How should I parse/load the logs to Logstash, what will be the configuration file of Logstash?

Sample logs

{"time":"2019-04-15 5:00:00","log-level":"INFO","operation":"database","module":"call-manager","event":"call","message":"Call initiated"}
{"time":"2019-04-15 5:01:00","log-level":"INFO","operation":"database","module":"call-manager","event":"call","message":"Call initiated"}

I tried with below configuration but not works
Logstash configuration file

input {
 file {
   type => "json"
   path => "/home/dhruv/logs.txt"
   start_position => beginning
 }
}
filter {
 json {
   source => "message"
 }
}
output {
   elasticsearch {
       hosts => ["localhost:9220"]
       index => "call_manager"
   }
}

I want to parse every key present in the logs. Can anyone please help me out with the configuration file.
Thanks in advance..

1 Like

The type parameter of an input is just adding a field named "type" with value "json" (in your case). See this for more info.

What you are actually looking for is the codec parameter that you can fix to "json" in your Logstash input. See this and find the codec list here.

Answering your questions:

1. If the format is json, I think putting the .json extension is appropriate, but even if you can save those files as .txt you can read them as json using the codec parameter.
  2. Your workflow should be quite simple here:
    1. Input your files using json codec
    2. Optional: you can use grok in the filter section to make additional parsing on specific fields.
    3. Output your event to elasticsearch
2 Likes

Hi, Thanks for the response.
I have finalized the file format as JSON for logs.

log.json