How to parse this json

I am new to logstash and have been trying to parse the below json with no luck.

{
"stat": "user",
"Ref": "USER:[5000,John Smith,3A37332D2659554F9CCE0CD754185269]",
"statistics": [
    "0",
    "",
    "",
    "0",
    "",
    "",
    "0",
    "IDLE",
    "5017",
]

}

The main thing I am trying to do is put each statistic into its own field, each line under statistic represents a metric from the source system.

example output:

statistic.Status => "IDLE"
  statistic.Duration => "1505"

Can anyone point me in the right direction to get started with this?

I think you need to convert the statistics array into hash (“key” => “value”) and for that you need a second array containing hash keys (column names).

First, you can use json_lines (or json) codec as input in order to parse the incoming event(s) as json, then in filter section you can use ruby filter to join the two arrays into a hash.
Something along these lines:

Keys = [“Status”, “Duration”, ....]
Event.set( Joined, Hash[keys.zip(event.get(“statistics”).map {|i| i})] )

It is probably better to inject the column names (keys array) early on with add_field etc. At least it is much cleaner and easier to maintain. Then you can just read it in ruby filter (event.get()).

PS. Sorry for the auto-capitalization of the variable names. I’m writing this on my phone.

Thanks for the reply but I thought it would be a much easier task to process that data in the statistics field. My initial idea was I thought I would be able to use the CSV filter on the statistics field but that doesn't seem to work. Same with gsub, if I try to do anything to the statistics field I get the error:

gsub mutation is only applicable for strings and arrays of strings, skipping {:field=>"statistics"

I'm failing to understand why its so difficult to work with this field, I'm new to logstash but I have been able to get it to do amazing things on logs that are much more complicated than this.