How to read base64 encoded logs from kafka through logstash pipeline

Hello all,
I am working on something I have never worked on before and I really do not know where to go from here and I am hoping someone might have some direction for me to attempt trying to get this parsed to Elasticsearch properly.

The application team sending logs to kafka topics with base64 encoded. Now i want to decode that base64 encoded logs through logstash pipeline. Could you please guide me on this?

Thanks
Upendar

You will probably need a ruby filter. See these two threads.

I think you are looking for the cipher filter, it has a base64 option.

Hi Badger,
Thanks for replying!
I have tried below ruby filter
ruby { code => 'event.set("decoded", Base64.decode64(event.get("payload")).force_encoding("UTF-8"))' }

But i am getting below error.
[ERROR] 2023-12-21 00:30:03.194 [[pecspayload]>worker1] ruby - Ruby exception occurred: undefined method unpack1' for nil:NilClass {:class=>"NoMethodError", :backtrace=>["/usr/share/logstash/vendor/jruby/lib/ruby/stdlib/base64.rb:59:in decode64'", "(ruby filter code):2:in block in filter_method'", "/usr/share/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/2.6.0/gems/logstash-filter-ruby-3.1.8/lib/logstash/filters/ruby.rb:96:in inline_script'", "/usr/share/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/2.6.0/gems/logstash-filter-ruby-3.1.8/lib/logstash/filters/ruby.rb:89:in filter'", "/usr/share/logstash/logstash-core/lib/logstash/filters/base.rb:159:in do_filter'", "/usr/share/logstash/logstash-core/lib/logstash/filters/base.rb:178:in block inmulti_filter'", "org/jruby/RubyArray.java:1865:in each'", "/usr/share/logstash/logstash-core/lib/logstash/filters/base.rb:175:in multi_filter'", "org/logstash/config/ir/compiler/AbstractFilterDelegatorExt.java:133:in multi_filter'", "/usr/share/logstash/logstash-core/lib/logstash/java_pipeline.rb:304:in `block in start_workers'"]}

i am sharing my logstash configuration.
input
{
kafka
{
bootstrap_servers => "A,B,C"
topics => "XX_XX_XX"