Identify lines older than X days

Logstash 2.3.4
I have dates extracted from the log lines using the date filter. I want to drop any log line which is older than 5 days and not put it into Elasticsearch at all.

Is there a standard filter which does this or at least identifies older log lines already or do I need to use a ruby filter? Due to complications with corporate process (please don't ask) it would be hard for me to install a community plugin which isn't included with the normal Logstash installation.

This issue has come up as sometimes we start Logstash on a VM which hasn't been run in a while and ancient log files get picked up which we don't want.

Cheers.

Yeah, I believe you'd have to use a ruby filter. The @timestamp field is of a timestamp type so doing date arithmetic to determine how old it is should be easy.

Thanks. I'm new to Ruby, does this look good? Drop anything older than 5 days. It seems to work fine.

ruby {
  init => "require 'time'"
  code => "if event['@timestamp'] < ( Time.now - 432000 ) 
    event.cancel
  end"
}

Yeah, that looks reasonable.

1 Like

I tried doing the same thing but that bit of ruby doesn't seem to be working for me. Is there a way to do the same thing but with python?

Not really, no. But given the vast similarities between Ruby and Python that shouldn't be a major hurdle in this simple case.

Thank you for getting back right away, I'm going to play around with it and see if I can get it running.

Here's what I used to test it:

input {
  stdin {}
}
filter {
  grok { match => {"message" => ["%{GREEDYDATA:time}\r" ]} }
  date {
    match => [ "time", "yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss"]
    locale => "en"
    timezone => "UTC"
  }
  ruby {
    init => "require 'time'"
    code => "if event['@timestamp'] < ( Time.now - 432000 ) 
      event.cancel
    end"
  }
}
output {
  stdout { codec => rubydebug }
}

Then test using 2016-09-20 06:47:06 and alter the day. More than 5 days ago should result in no output.

1 Like