Importing MySQL column into Elasticsearch as nested field with jdbc plugin

Hi, I am new to elasticsearch and have spent the last two weeks trying to learn everything i can to the best of my ability but as one can imagine it is somewhat overwhelming from a new-coming standpoint.

I am trying to import MySQL data as suggestions, This currently works fine however the problem comes when i attempt to add payload data such as a userId field, My initial thoughts was to perform the following query.

SELECT user_id as 'suggestion.payloads.userId' FROM MyTable WHERE MyColumn = MyValue;

After doing some digging through the logs to see what the issue was, I get the following error message:

MapperParsingException[Field name [suggestion.payloads.userId] cannot contain '.']

Would anyone be able to lend a helping hand to overcome this issue, Any help or advice would be hugely appreciated, I have been trying all day / night to resolve this but it seems im missing something and due to my lack of knowledge.

Thank you.

Did you try SELECT user_id as '[suggestion][payloads][userId]' ...? If that doesn't work I suspect you have to select fields with flat names and rename them afterwards.

More on field reference syntax: https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/current/event-dependent-configuration.html#logstash-config-field-references

@magnusbaeck - Thanks for taking the time out to lend a helping hand. Unfortunately that did not work either and is indexed in elasticsearch like so:

"@timestamp": "2017-08-08T10:31:06.871Z",
      "@version": "1",
      "[suggestion][payloads][userId]": 1 

I have also performed a suggestion query to double check the field definitely wasn't part of the payload and it confirmed it did not work.

After reading the url provided, I am trying to put a config file together and will do some testing. Would you say this is along the right lines or am i getting it all worng because when ever i run the config file below i get the following error message