Intake very slow (more than 10secondes)

Elastic stack version 7.12.0 with Platinium licence

APM Agent language and version: nodeJS - 3.X (latest)

Run on k8s.

Our nodeJS application complains about timeout when sending APM events to intake API. I setup instrumentation on apm-server, and see POST /intake/v2/events can take more than 10s!

I dont see any trouble on ES cluster, thread pools are fine.

Our apm-server.yml config file:

In APM-server logs, I can see sometimes "queue is full".

We use "stack monitoring", on an extra ES cluster:

I am not an expert on APM-server (yet!) , but I was thinking intake API should be very fast, with a queue system between in and output?

I suspect long GC:

@ebuildy Hi! I don't know for sure from your data, but it is possible this is due to an issue in the Node.js APM agent: Blocking Behavior under Benchmarking Load · Issue #136 · elastic/apm-nodejs-http-client · GitHub
That issue is "fixed", but is not yet in a released APM agent. The work to get it into an APM agent release is here: fix: blocking behaviour under load by trentm · Pull Request #2024 · elastic/apm-agent-nodejs · GitHub

This Node.js APM agent issue can happen when the app using the agent is under fairly high load and/or the APM server is being slow or non-responsive. If possible, you could try this branch of the APM agent to see if that helps: GitHub - elastic/apm-agent-nodejs at trentm/blocking-behavior

I don't know apm-server that well, so I don't know if there could also be a server-side issue here. Seeing "queue is full" is the apm-server logs suggests that yes, there might be.