Issue in parsing the file which has # character at the beginning of the line

Hi All,

I am new to logstash and recently started scripiting in logstash. we have a requirement where some logs files have # in the beginning of the line. Say
####<Aug 11, 2016 11:40:53 AM CDT><Info> <Security> <HostName>
####<Aug 11, 2016 11:40:54 AM CDT> <Info> <Security> <HostName>
now, I want to parse each line separately if it has #### in the beginning, but i tried couple of scripts and all are failing with ""Expected one of #, input, filter, output at line 28, column 1 (byte 302) after ", :level=>:error}" error:

Scripts i used:

1:
input
{
file
{
path => "/tmp/testXML1.log"
codec => plain { charset => "US-ASCII"}
type => "OSBLog"
}
}
output {
elasticsearch {
hosts => ["192.168.99.100:9200"]
codec => plain {charset => "US-ASCII"}
}
stdout { codec => rubydebug }
}
2:
input
{
file
{
codec => multiline
{
pattern => "^/####"
}
type => "OSBLog"
}
}
output {
elasticsearch {
}
}

Any help will be highly appreciated.

The error message you posted indicates that your configuration doesn't pass logstash --configtest. You're not telling us which of these configurations you had problems with, but when testing myself it seems the first one is okay but the second configuration given the following error with Logstash 2.3.4:

Missing a required setting for the multiline codec plugin:

codec {
    multiline {
      what => # SETTING MISSING
    }
  } {:level=>:error}
The given configuration is invalid. Reason: Something is wrong with your configuration. {:level=>:fatal}

And indeed, a multiline codec with just pattern set doesn't make sense. I'm not sure what you're trying to do there. What does

I want to parse each line separately if it has #### in the beginning

mean? Please give more context to the problem. Concrete examples are better than descriptions.

Thanks for your reply Magnus, looks like hash characters that I included are wiped off, may be I should have been clear.