Json of varying length and multiline

I'm very new to everything elastic, logstash and json. I was able to stand everything up and ingest one set of logs and query on them in kibana. My second data set is a json file whose fields vary from message to message. There are a lot of fields, about 176, but a single record which is multilined may only have 30 of the fields represented. My first question is will a records ingest into elastic stack if the field is in the index but others in the index are not present, or do I need to add the null fields? I haven't been able to index any docs for this json source.

The second question is how do I represent the multiline pattern in my config file. I have read many of the multiline posts, but I just can't seem to generalize their solutions to meet my need. I put message in the filter thinking that is some generic value that denotes a message. Does this value have to be some field structure that is present in the json? Here is my current config file:

input {
  file {
    type => "json"
    path => "C:/ESTK/*.json"
    codec => multiline {
    pattern => "}}"
    negate => "false"
    what => "previous"
    }
    start_position => "beginning"
    sincedb_path => "NUL"
    }
}
filter {
    json {source => "message"}
}
output {
   elasticsearch {
     action => "index"
     hosts => "http://localhost:9200"
     index => "gt"
  }
}

I appreciate any help with my issues.

To answer your first question, no, you do not need to add null values for fields that are missing from some events.

Please edit your post, select the configuration and click on </> in the toolbar above the edit panel. You should see the text appear in the preview panel on the right

this
    with indentation preserved.

Thirdly, can you show us what the json looks like. It's impossible to suggest what multiline pattern you should use if we do not know what the data looks like. You can sanitize all the values if you want.