Kafka module metricbeat

Hello,

I'm pretty new to the Elastic stack. I've just setup Elastic 5.1.1 and I'm trying to use the experimental kafka metrics included in metricbeat. I've already bumped up the logging level of the metricbeat to debug.
I keep getting the error: No advertised broker with address :9092 found"

I am certain the kafka broker is listening there. JMX is enabled on the kafka broker.
Can anyone tell me what I could be doing wrong here and where I can find out what's wrong?

Best Regards,
Jo

Can you share the module configuration?

For metricbeat kafka module normally you are advised to run one metricbeat instance on each kafka host (still, module can work with remote brokers though). Reasons for installing one metricbeat per kafka broker:

• kafka API allows to collect partition offsets only for partitions kafka node is leader for, but metricbeat shall mostly collect metrics from localhost only
  • in addition to kafka module you're recommended to use system the module to collect metrics for:
    • CPU/memory/disk io stats/load usage
    • disk usage (to monitor kafka not running out of space)

In kafka a broker can have 2 addresses. The listening address (e.g. used for bootstrapping) and the advertised address. In metricbeat 5.1.1 you will need to configure the advertised address, such that metricbeat can correctly correlate the broker metadata with the broker you're connecting to. Check you kafka server.properties file for listeners and advertised keywords to figure out the hostname to set.

Next metricbeat releases might implement some more sophisticated broker matching support, such that localhost:9200 will hopefully work out of the box for most installations.

Here's the metricbeat configuration

###################### Metricbeat Configuration Example #######################

# This file is an example configuration file highlighting only the most common
# options. The metricbeat.full.yml file from the same directory contains all the