Keep getting _jsonparsefailures

I am still relatively new to logstash, so I have been trying to run through a bit of a crash course in using it and getting logs to filter correctly. I finally have logs hitting like they should, but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to fix this error, which is in my sampleFile. My conf looks like this:

input {
  tcp {
    port => 9200
    codec => plain
  }
}

filter {
  mutate {
    gsub => [
      "message", "^.* - ", ""
    ]
  }
  json {
    source => "message"
  }
}

output {
  microsoft-sentinel-log-analytics-logstash-output-plugin {
    create_sample_file => true
    sample_file_path => "/tmp/logstash/phisher"
  }
}

And, here is what one of the logs comes through as on the sample file:

{
    "tags": [
      "_jsonparsefailure"
    ],
    "message": "604 <118>1 - phisher.knowbe4.com PhishER - - - {\"receivedAt\":\"2024-09-23T11:39:26.772199Z\",\"reportedAt\":\"2024-09-23T11:39:17Z\",\"sender\":\"redacted@redacted.com\",\"reporter\":\"redacted@redacted.com\",\"subject\":\"You're Order Has Shipped!  - Order Number\",\"priority\":\"critical\",\"category\":\"threat\",\"status\":\"resolved\",\"tags\":[\"LA_CLOSE_TICKET_SUCCESS\",\"MANUAL_RESOLVED\",\"LA_OPEN_TICKET_SUCCESS\",\"MANUAL\",\"VT_SCANNED\",\"KB4:SHIPPING\",\"KB4:SPF_PASS\",\"KB4:DKIM_PASS\",\"KB4:BILLING\",\"USER:THREAT\"],\"action\":\"Syslog\",\"permalink\":\"https://phisher.knowbe4.com/inbox/3redacted75\"}",
    "ls_timestamp": "2024-09-24T02:59:48.370952470Z",
    "ls_version": "1"
  },

I have a hunch that this section is breaking things:
604 <118>1 - phisher.knowbe4.com PhishER - - -
due to the <118>, so I tried to get the message to split this out, and I have tried some other filtering.