Logstash 5.0 parsing jason

I'm new to Elasticsearch 5.0 with Logstash 5.0 and I want to parse some bigger json file. I put an example on Json File.

What I try to do is split the json on Data.InstallAnalysis.Analysis.TCommServerInstallAnalysis.* . But I can't figure out how to split it how I can make wildcards work.

My Configuration looks like that:

input {
file {
path => "/home/agenda/json/json.txt"
start_position => "beginning"
codec => json { }
sincedb_path => "/etc/logstash.central/jsonloc"
}
}

filter {
json {
source => "message"
}
split {
field => "Data.InstallAnalysis.Analysis.TCommServerInstallAnalysis.*"
}
}

The Output I get hast the following issue:
18:14:29.208 [[main]>worker0] WARN logstash.filters.split - Only String and Array types are splittable. field:Data.InstallAnalysis.Analysis.TCommServerInstallAnalysis.* is of type = NilClass

Can someone help me?

Thanks

I don't understand what a split on Data.InstallAnalysis.Analysis.TCommServerInstallAnalysis.* even means. What does the input document look like and how do you want it transformed?

I can see in the pastebin text that the JSON is "pretty printed" over multiple lines.

Is your data like this? If so, this will not work with the JSON codec on the file input.

file + json codec want one JSON object per line. e.g.

{"foo":"bar"}
{"bar":"baz"}

for pretty printed files you will need the file multiline codec with a pattern => "^}" and what => "previous" and negate => true. Then the message field will have the JSON as a string and you will need to apply the JSON filter to the message field. But then the difficulty will kick in.
Logstash does not know how to descend into this huge JSON document and split all fields matching "Data.InstallAnalysis.Analysis.TCommServerInstallAnalysis.*" into separate events.
We don't have an equivalent concept of XPATH in the split filter.

Hi Magnus,