Logstash - adding new fields

Hi,

I'm new in Elastic, so my question can be one of the 'stupid' one, but i hope it will help me to understand the connection between Logstash and Elastic search.

So... I followed the tutorial on this site: https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-install-elasticsearch-logstash-and-kibana-elk-stack-on-centos-7

at the end everything works fine, but ...I would like to add/change the fields matching

As I understand the part responsible for that is the filter part :
match => { "message" => "%{DATA:user} - %{UUID:uid} %{TIMESTAMP_ISO8601:timestamp} [%{DATA:information}] %{LOGLEVEL:loglevel} (%{JAVACLASS:java}) %{GREEDYDATA:log_message}" }

in my case is as above. My understanding of that is that the line "match => ..." will assingn all the grok templates (for example: UUID) to the values (uid). The whole decoded string is assigned to the value "message".

then I want to add another field using add_field => [ "test", "%{host}" ] , but this field is not visible in the Kibana.

So my question is what do I miss? what should I look at ?
any hint and help will be appeciated

Thanks!
Przemek

in my case is as above. My understanding of that is that the line "match => ..." will assingn all the grok templates (for example: UUID) to the values (uid).

Yes.

The whole decoded string is assigned to the value "message".

The message field contains each line from the log file, yes.

then I want to add another field using add_field => [ "test", "%{host}" ] , but this field is not visible in the Kibana.

Are you sure the grok filter is successful? Your event doesn't have a _grokparsefailure tag?

I strongly suggest that you use a stdout { codec => rubydebug } output as a debugging aid instead of sending events to Elasticsearch and looking at the via Kibana. There are things that could go wrong along the way and as a beginner it'll be much harder to debug.

Magnus, thank you very much for your hints.