Logstash beginner configuration issues

Hi there,

I am a complete beginner with Logstash and I have issues configurating it. I am getting this error message :

Thread.exclusive is deprecated, use Thread::Mutex
Sending Logstash logs to /var/log/logstash which is now configured via log4j2.properties
[2020-01-27T16:51:43,379][FATAL][logstash.runner ] An unexpected error occurred! {:error=>#<ArgumentError: Path "/var/lib/logstash/queue" must be a writable directory. It is not writable.>, :backtrace=>["/usr/share/logstash/logstash-core/lib/logstash/settings.rb:489:in validate'", "/usr/share/logstash/logstash-core/lib/logstash/settings.rb:271:in validate_value'", "/usr/share/logstash/logstash-core/lib/logstash/settings.rb:182:in block in validate_all'", "org/jruby/RubyHash.java:1417:in each'", "/usr/share/logstash/logstash-core/lib/logstash/settings.rb:181:in validate_all'", "/usr/share/logstash/logstash-core/lib/logstash/runner.rb:284:in execute'", "/usr/share/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/2.5.0/gems/clamp-0.6.5/lib/clamp/command.rb:67:in run'", "/usr/share/logstash/logstash-core/lib/logstash/runner.rb:242:in run'", "/usr/share/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/2.5.0/gems/clamp-0.6.5/lib/clamp/command.rb:132:in run'", "/usr/share/logstash/lib/bootstrap/environment.rb:73:in '"]}
[2020-01-27T16:51:43,483][ERROR][org.logstash.Logstash ] java.lang.IllegalStateException: Logstash stopped processing because of an error: (SystemExit) exit

Is anyone familiar with this kind of error message ?

Many thanks

Marie-Laure

What is unclear about that error message?

Basically everything :slight_smile: I don't understand how to solve the whole bunch of issues in this error message !! I am a disaster

You need to chmod the /var/lib/logstash/queue directory so that it is writeable by the user who is running logstash.

Hi Badger,

I tried chmod doing this :

$sudo chmod -R 755 /var/lib/logstash/queue

But it did not work. Do you think this is the correct way ?

Many thanks