LogStash does not appear to be receiving files from FileBeat

I am new to Filebeats and LogStash and am feeling overwhelmed.
My goal is to take .json files in through Filebeats to LogStash and finally onto Elasticsearch.
I am currently working on my local dev machine running Windows 7.
For right now I am just trying to take the files from Filebeats and output them to the console.

Here is my filebeat.yml file:

filebeat.prospectors:

• input_type: log
    paths:
  • c:\Elasticsearch5\elasticsearch\data*.json
    output.logstash:
    hosts: ["localhost:5043"]

As I put .json files into that I see them get picked up in my Filebeats console window when I run:

C:\Program Files\Filebeat>filebeat -e -c filebeat.yml -d "Publish"

Here is my filebeat.conf file that I use with LogStash:

input {
beats {
port => 5043
codec => "json"
}
}
output {
stdout { codec => rubydebug }
}

Finally here is my logstash.yml file:

node.name: logstash_node_aaron_122016
config.reload.automatic: true
path.logs: c:\Elasticsearch5\log\logstash

I fire up LogStash using:

C:\Elasticsearch5\logstash-5.0.2>.\bin\logstash -f .\config\filebeat.conf --debug

I have been all over the internet looking at different documents and have had no success!
Considering going back to using the ES API fed by a Console App!

Thank you!
-Aaron

If Filebeat doesn't send anything to Logstash there should be clues in the Filebeat log file.

Thanks for the response. I am not getting any Log files in C:\Program Files\Filebeat\logs directory.
I have the logging.level set to debug in my filebeat.yml file.

What does the whole logging section look like? When posting make sure you preserve the indentation.

#================================ Logging =====================================

# Sets log level. The default log level is info.
# Available log levels are: critical, error, warning, info, debug
logging.level: debug
# At debug level, you can selectively enable logging only for some components.