Logstash + historical import + oddball time stamps

I am experiencing challenges around getting any of my logs files to use the timestamp in the log file rather than the time it was sucked in. I have been googling, reading and even explored the "Your topic similar to..." suggestions by the website. I am a total noob so I could still be missing something... But am hoping it's something obvious to an advanced user.

My apache filter...
`
input { stdin { } }

filter {
grok {
match => { "message" => "%{COMBINEDAPACHELOG}" }
}
date {
match => [ "timestamp" , "dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z" , "MMM dd yyyy HH:mm:ss" , "MMM dd yyyy HH:mm:ss" , "dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss" , "DDD MMM dd HH:mm:ss yyyy" , "[DDD MMM dd HH:mm:ss yyyy]" , "MMM dd HH:mm:ss yyyy" ]
}
}

output {
elasticsearch { hosts => ["localhost:9200"] }
stdout { codec => rubydebug }
}
`

The test...