Logstash is sending variables to elasticsearch

I have an issue where logstash is sending the variables to elasticsearch instead of enumerating the contents of the variable. The variables in question are coming from filebeat and I'm using these variables to create 2 different indexes in elasticsearch.

I am getting indexes in elasticsearch that have variables names in them AND enumerated names like this:

filebeat-%{[fields][host]}-%{[fields][log_type]}-2020-08-06
filebeat-dev6-nginx-2020-08-06
filebeat-dev6-reqresp-2020-08-06

I must be doing something wrong - I am very new to elastic stack. Thanks in advance for any help.

Here are my configs:
filebeat

filebeat.inputs:
    - type: log
      enabled: true

# Specify nginx as the log type for further processing by logstash
      fields:
        log_type: nginx
        host: dev6

paths:
        - /var/log/nginx/*.log
      exlcude_files: ['my-dev-reqresp.log']
      exlcude_files: ['my-other-reqresp.log']

- type: log
      enabled: true

# Specify reqresp as the log type for logstash
      fields:
        log_type: reqresp
      paths:
        - /var/log/nginx/my-dev-reqresp.log
        - /var/log/nginx/my-other-reqresp.log

output.logstash:
      # The Logstash hosts
      hosts: ["docker-dev0:5044"]

Logstash

input {
        beats {
            port => 5044
        }
    }

output {
     elasticsearch {
       hosts => ["elasticsearch:9200"]
       user => "elastic"
       password => "password"
       index => "filebeat-%{[fields][host]}-%{[fields][log_type]}-%{+YYYY-MM-dd}"
     }
     stdout {
       codec => rubydebug { 
         metadata => true
       }
     }
    }

When you look at documents in that index, so they have [fields][host] and [fields][log_type]? Can you pull a sample document as JSON and post it?

I hope you mean this:

"message" => "a bunch of stuff here",

"fields" => {

"log_type" => "nginx",

"host" => "dev6"

This is some data from the stdout of logstash.