Logstash jdbc document_id => "%{uid}" problem

Hi
Logstash newbie here :smile:

Using logstash 2.0.0 and elastic 2.0.0

I'm trying to follow https://www.elastic.co/blog/logstash-jdbc-input-plugin and MySQL driver.

I'm setting in config

The data is being read ok-ish, (got multiple records returned) however on Elastic side I'm getting only one document indexed. In place of usual _id it's geting _id:%{uid}

If I don't use document_id => "%{uid}" I'm getting multiple documents indexed reflecting the SQL query output. However I wanted to avoid data duplication.

Any ideas?
Marcin

1 Like

Can you provide your entire config?

Hi Mark, thanks for asking.

input {
  jdbc {
    jdbc_driver_library => "/opt/logstash-2.0.0/vendor/mysql/mysql-connector-java-5.1.37-bin.jar"
    jdbc_driver_class => "com.mysql.jdbc.Driver"
    jdbc_connection_string => "jdbc:mysql://***:***/***"
    jdbc_user => "***"
    jdbc_password => "***"

statement_filepath => "/opt/logstash-2.0.0/sql_queries/query3.sql"
  }
}

output {

#       stdout { codec=>rubydebug }

elasticsearch {
                index => "****"
                document_type => "****"
                document_id => "%{uid}"
                hosts => "localhost:9200"
 }
}
1 Like

When you enable the stdout output, do you have a field named 'uid' that the document_id can be built from?

Good question Christian!

In the result I don't have any ID field actually.

However in the example from the URL the result of SQL query also has no 'uid' thing. It's there seen in json output though.

And there you go - I've modified my sql query to return an id and used document_id => "%{id}" and this populated the row IDs into _id field.

I'm guessing it's possible to create a hash of returned values and have it as document_id?