Logstash json parse error

I have a problem trying to parse a log file with backslashes in it. I have tried a number of escape options using the gsub() method although without any luck. I am not a ruby coder so its possible i am doing something simple but wrong.

[2017-02-06T11:21:45,716][ERROR][logstash.codecs.json     ] JSON parse error, original data now in message field {:error=>#<LogStash::Json::ParserError: Unrecognized character escape 'P' (code 80)
; line: 1, column: 183]>, :data=>"{ \"time\": \"2017-02-02T20:12:22.583Z\", \"msg\": \"PP file system location: C:\\Pr\\pc\\au\\Pc0\\\" }\r"}

My logstash script looks like this

filter {
if ["msg"] {
ruby {
code => 'str=event.get("msg"); str=str.gsub("\x22",""").gsub("\x5C", "\"); event.set("msg", str);'
}
}
}

Thanks
Matt

Have you run in through the Grok debugger?

https://grokdebug.herokuapp.com/

Is that applicable when its a JSON input ?

Ohhhh good question. I am not sure. :frowning:

I suppose fixing the broken JSON is out of the question then?

Hi @magnusbaeck I just checked the JSON but still can't spot a problem. I have edited it as the actual JSON has some paths and lots of other properties but the JSON above showed the issue. Anyway as I said I still can't see the problem with the JSON?

For some more info if required below is my conf file with the full inputs/filter/output

input {
file {
path => "C:/temp/test.log"
start_position => "beginning"
sincedb_path => "c:\Elastic\spots.txt"
#ignore_older => 100000000
codec => json {
#charset => "ISO-8859-1"
}
#add_field => { "pid" => 0 }
}
}

filter {
date {
match => [ "time", "ISO8601", "YYYY-MM-dd HH:mm:ss", "YYYY-MM-dd HH:mm:ss.SSSS", "YYYY/MM/dd HH:mm:ss", "YYYY/MM/dd HH:mm:ss.SSSS", "YYYY-MM-dd'T'HH:mm:ss:SSSS'Z'" ]
timezone => UTC
}
mutate {
remove_field => [ "time" ]
}
if ["msg"] {
ruby {
code => 'str=event.get("msg"); str=str.gsub("\x22",""").gsub("\x5C", "\"); event.set("msg", str);'
}
}
}

output {
elasticsearch {
hosts => [ "localhost:9200" ]