Logstash multiline codec functional question

Hello,

I am kind of new to logstash and was wondering about the functionality of the multiline codec.

If I have a multiline codec that has the following definition:

input {
beats {
port => "5045"
codec => multiline {
multiline_tag => "MULTILINE"
patterns_dir => "C:/dev/elk/logstash-5.4.0/custom_patterns"
pattern => "SOME_MULTILINE_PATTERN"
what => "next"
}
}
}

All logging lines/events that pass the pattern are concatenated to form a single event. But the last line which does not match is also concatented.

Is that the expected functionity?

I would expect that if it does not match it is dropped from the multiline event and sent in the next event.

I was also wondering if it is possible to have more than one multiline codec definition. One that does the next line processing and another the previous line?

Regards Benny

Hello,

I was wondering if my question was clear?

Regards benny

All logging lines/events that pass the pattern are concatenated to form a single event. But the last line which does not match is also concatented.

I'm not sure exactly what you mean (examples help) but it since the last matching line joins with the next line what you describe sounds like the intended behavior. Perhaps you should use what => "previous" instead? Again, an example of what you're trying to do would make it easier to help.

I was also wondering if it is possible to have more than one multiline codec definition. One that does the next line processing and another the previous line?

When would you want to do this?

Hi Magnus,

Thank you for the reply!

Below is an example of my multiline pattern:

input {
beats {
port => "5045"
codec => multiline {
multiline_tag => "MULTILINE"
pattern => "(^111)|(^222)"
what => "next"
}
}
}

The output is:

{
"message" => "000",
"type" => "log",
"tags" => [
[0] "beats_input_codec_multiline_applied"
]
}
{
"message" => "111\n222\n333",
"type" => "log",
"tags" => [
[0] "MULTILINE",