Logstash not showing any output

Hi
I am a student working on a project and decided to use ELK Stack as a logging tool to present its value.
I am using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 12 SP3 (x86_64) as OS and running it on a virtual machine.

I need a bit of help understanding how logstash works. Right now I have set it up so it should take my apache2 logs and send it to elasticsearch. But nothing gets through, I have tested with your examples with the bank and everything worked as it should, I was able to find the bank data through kibana and create an index for it. But when I moved on to another example, setting up for apache data nothing happens. I've checked the logs but nothing seems to be wrong.

Here is the simple.config I am using for logstash:

input {
  file {
    path => "/var/log/apache2/access_log"
    start_position => "beginning"
  }
}
filter {

grok {
        match => { "message" => "%{COMBINEDAPACHELOG}"}
    }
    date {
        match => [ "timestamp" , "dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z" ]
  }
}

output {
  elasticsearch {
  hosts => ["localhost:9200"]
  }
 }

and the logstash logs looks as following:

[2018-02-21T13:10:46,658][INFO ][logstash.runner ] Starting Logstash {"logstash.version"=>"6.2.0"}
[2018-02-21T13:10:47,118][INFO ][logstash.agent ] Successfully started Logstash API endpoint {:port=>9600}
[2018-02-21T13:10:48,068][INFO ][logstash.pipeline ] Starting pipeline {:pipeline_id=>"main", "pipeline.workers"=>2, "pipeline.batch.size"=>125, "pipeline.batch.delay"=>50}
[2018-02-21T13:10:48,324][INFO ][logstash.outputs.elasticsearch] Elasticsearch pool URLs updated {:changes=>{:removed=>, :added=>[http://localhost:9200/]}}
[2018-02-21T13:10:48,326][INFO ][logstash.outputs.elasticsearch] Running health check to see if an Elasticsearch connection is working {:healthcheck_url=>http://localhost:9200/, :path=>"/"}
[2018-02-21T13:10:48,403][WARN ][logstash.outputs.elasticsearch] Restored connection to ES instance {:url=>"http://localhost:9200/"}