Logstash OOM - understanding heap sizing

Hello

Could you help me understand logstash's memory requirements? I am currently getting these errors:

[2017-10-11T09:45:02,586][INFO ][org.logstash.beats.BeatsHandler] Exception: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space, from: /<ip>:46818

Logstash is configured with ~4GB Heap. In jvm.options:

-Xms3909m
-Xmx3909m

The GC is obviously running all the time, with 1 core of a multi-core system being more or less constantly at 100%. Could you help me understand how I should size the heap for logstash?

Thanks,
Dan

Update: I believe this is related to having a large number of events in the persistent queue. I currently have over 130 million events in the queue, with a queue size of 200GB. The OOM errors happen directly after logstash startup, and the number of events in the queue is (slowly) going down.
I am not a Java developer, could it be that such a large queue is somehow not memory-friendly?

2 Likes

I increased the heap to ~4GB and now the OOM errors are gone, but GC is still running all the time and the performance is slowed to a crawl:

247.157: [Full GC (Allocation Failure) 247.157: [CMS249.912: [CMS-concurrent-mark: 4.669/4.704 secs] [Times: user=26.71 sys=1.33, real=4.70 secs]
 (concurrent mode failure): 3494335K->3494335K(3494336K), 11.7674103 secs] 4874495K->3990390K(4874496K), [Metaspace: 60628K->60628K(1103872K)], 11.7676024 secs] [Times: user=18.68 sys=0.82, real=11.76 secs]

Which version are you running? What does your config look like?

I'm running 5.6.3.

The config has several input plugins (beats, gelf, tcp, udp), a number of filters, mostly grok, and a single output to elasticsearch. The same config has been running without issues for months, and is currently running on another 5.6.3 with no issues. I'd rather not post it here without sanitizing it first; let me know if you need to see the details and I'll work on it.