Logstash Plugins

I am trying to parse a single line of unstructured data and I believe I am over complicating the matter. I am a log time SIEM engineer and content developer. That said, I am both in awe and just a tad overwhelmed in light of how awesome this is and how much resources are available.

My main question is this: I want use Logstash without Elasticsearch and Kibana and pull from a file and output the filtered data to a file? I am sure I can but what would be the best way of deploying this quickly?

Does anyone recommend any specific plugins for a lightweight task aside from the file plugins for input and output? Filtering I am using grok - which is AWESOME -- but are dissect and mutate better or more time-friendly for someone who just needs to parse so as to map a couple tags and rename a field or two?

I am a newb with this but I will say that in the past week I have learned a great deal but I am missing my deadline because I am experimenting with so many possible resources and such that I am a little bit lost,

Anyone have any ideas?

It really depends on how your logs looks like, how frequently you will need to parse the files, what is the output that want etc.

Elasticsearch is just one of the main outputs plugins in logstash, you do not need it, you can output to a file without any problem, actually I would say that this file input -> filters -> file output is a pretty common pipeline, I do that frequently when testing new things in my logstash pipelines.

But sometimes you do not even need the file input, you could use the stdin input and pipe the results to the logstash pipeline using a cat on a file or an echo with your logline.

$ cat file.txt | /usr/share/logstash/bin/logstash -f pipeline.conf

or

$ echo "your log line" | /usr/share/logstash/bin/logstash -f pipeline.conf

To parse your message you can use one of the parse filters, mainly dissect, grok, json and kv, it really depends on how your message looks like.