Logstash receive from multiple source & data analysis

Hi,

I'm new to logstash, i've set up the "sexilog" appliance ( it's a elk appliance mostly developped for vmware logs)

I'm trying to catch a extreme networks wifi controller logs.

Actually, all the log are received trough the same default input file from sexilog.

1. I would like to add a tag to the logs from the wifi controller. to filter only these logs. What's the best way to do it ?
    Actually this is teh default input file

input {

udp {
            port => 514
            type => esxi
    }

}

Can i copy that file and add the source ip ?

1. This is the kind of logs i receive:

<182>events: EventType[State Change] MAC[EC:35:86:XX:XX:XX] IP[172.XX.X.XX] SSID[SSIDNAME] BSSID[D8:84:XX:XX:XX:XX]

I suppose i have to use grok to format it correctly, what would be the righ way to do it ?

Thanks in advance for yor help

If that is your only input on 514 then you just choose the type field. If you have multiple inputs each input can have a type. What do you mean by source ip?

Just write a grok to match what you are going to get.

That is the correct way

1. Not sure exactly what you mean, but the udp input will create a field with the IP address and (I think) source port of the connecting client. If the IP address is fixed and you want to add a human-readable field or tag you can use a conditional filter similar to this:
if [clientip] == "1.2.3.4" {
  mutate {
    add_tag => ["some-appliance"]
  }
}
  1. Okay, so you basically have a list of key/value pairs (on the form KEY[VALUE]). In most key/value cases one would use the kv filter, but that won't work in this case so we'll have to use grok. The following can be used to parse a single such key/value pair:
EventType\[(?<EventType>[^\]]+)\]

HI,

Thanks you for your answers.

Could you confirm that the "if" has to be set in the input file ?

Will try the grok