Logstash XPATH Querying XML element value based on a CSV field Value

I have a CSV file to parse using logstash. i am able to get each of the rows to elastic search from CSV .my current requirement is to get a field value from xml based on CSV input value for each row.. how can i do it kindly help..

my CSV file content looks something like this

id|key |value
10|000-0|12

and xml file which existis in the same folder looks like

<customer id="10"> 
        <type>frequent buyer</type>
    </customer>

now i am getting the Id value(10 in this case) from csv in a field named ID so how can i get the corresponding type value('frequent buyer') from xml to another field named type in logstash. How can i concurrently parse both csv and xml. since for each row in csv i have to fetch this value from xml. can it be done using XPATH in xml filter

can source attribute point to a real xml path other than message ?

xml {
        store_xml => "true"
        source => 
}

i am a newbie on logstash. Kindly help.. Thanks for your help in advance.

1 Like

This kind of merging of multiple input files is not something Logstash is very good at. I think your best bet would be to read the CSV and XML files elsewhere and possibly produce JSON files or similar that Logstash can process (if you indeed need to use Logstash to process the resulting events).

2 Likes

Hi Jyothish,

It might be worth investigating the logstash-filter-translate plugin:
https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/current/plugins-filters-translate.html

Though not yet a documented feature, there was a pull request that allows the dictionary functionality where you can replace the value of a field using a lookup table to take not only YAML but also CSV as an input dictionary:
https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/current/plugins-filters-translate.html#plugins-filters-translate-dictionary_path